DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Prime versus Zoom lenses

S

shakyone

I'm somewhat new to photography. I have bought into Minolta so far. I have the Maxxum 5 with the 28-80 D and 75-300 D. I am finding that the pictures with the 75-300 lens are just slightly blurred around the edges of the subject. I get very crisp contrast around the subject with my p&s digital camera and I am wondering if it is the lens of my M5. I compared the photos my wife had done by a professional friend, who is a Nikon 35mm fan, and his photos with his zoom lenses were much more crisp.

1. Has anyone had the same experience?

2. Is it the Lens? ...The focusing system?

3. Do prime lenses in general eliminate such problems? I would consider the 50/1.8 or the 85/1.4 D.

Shaky

That is most probably due to camera shake. Any quality difference between the lenses is not likely to be visible to the naked eye.

The rule of thumb is that the lowest shutter speed is the reciprocal of the focal length. That is, if you are using the lens at 300mm, the lowest shutter speed you can use without visible camera shake is 1/300 of a second, and for 75mm it's 1/75 of a second, etc.

It is also not likely to be due to the camera body because you have no such problem with the 28-80.

Try using your lens on a tripod and see if it still gives a blurred picture.

The blur may also be due to subject shake. For ex&le if your subject is a tree, the leaves may be moved by the wind, etc.