DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

User comments btil June 2003

G

Does anyone have any information on the 885? Pros/Cons over the 4300? How about it's Manual mode abilities? Durability to impact, moisture, etc.? Battery life? Sorry for all the inquiries, I'm new to digital.

All I can do is give you a testominial on the 885. It has been bullet proof in over 5000 images. Wish it had a few more manual abilities. Had a chance to go over the 4300 in comparison but not to shoot it. Looked good to me.

Does anyone know anything about the durability of pixels? That is, the photosensing screen. I read somewhere that taking pics into intense light (like the sun) might knock out pixels? Fact, or fiction?

Hi there,

The CCD is quite durable and taking snapshots of the sun doesnt get it spoilt however taking long exposures of the sun or continuous exposures of the sun with the display on will affect it/

Sam

I don't understand. So... The display will be ruined, or the photocells will be ruined?

That is, can I take pics of intense light using the viewfinder only?