DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. Whether it is Medium Format, fullframe, APS-C, MFT or smaller formats. Digital or film. DPRF is a forum for everybody and for every format.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Got my "L" plates...

foveonfan

Hi, All!

Always wanted to do some bird photography in my own backyard. So I started learning (with "L" plates displayed) yesterday. This was one of the first results.

Set-Up: Manfrotto Superclamp holding stick onto lightstand. Old studio monobloc shooting through translucent brolly with exposure set to one stop under sunlight and radio transmitter on camera hotshoe with receiver on flash so no cable required, door closed and shot through kitchen window.

SD14 / 50 - 500mm, ISO200, 1/200s, F11 (flash F8), RAW, hand held.

Sincere regards, Jim Roelofs

May you too discover the light on your journey.

Attachments

• Inquisitive.jpg
    EXIF
    Inquisitive.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 22
Very clean shot...

Jim,

I am very impressed how clean the subject is in this photo....great job..

Tony C.

Tony, thanks for the compliment!

Secret, I think is the ratio (one stop) between incident light (sun) and the fill light (flash). The position of light helps too. Sun is to left @ 45 degrees and the flash is to the right @ around 60 degrees and diffused through translucent brolly. You know the brollies? They look milky white and stick out the front of the flash, between it and the subject, diffusing the light nicely.

May you too discover the light on your journey.

Hi All,